Boasting in Weakness

I’ve been in the city for three weeks and I’ve grown and learned so much through this time. My plan was to write a blog post a week, but it’s been so hard to process everything and put it into words. So here is my attempt of putting this crazy, amazing, beautiful place that has quickly become home to me into a blog post. When I got here I was so nervous that I wouldn’t be used. The one thought that would not leave my mind was “how can you use such a quiet, small, awkward person like me?” I was quickly mistaken. Each person on our team has been gifted with something to bring Glory to our Father in Heaven, whether it be in music, sports, or graphic design, he has used each of us in mighty ways so far and I can’t wait to see what He does through us as we wrap up the last three weeks. One thing that I have been holding on to is that Jesus works in our weaknesses. I’m learning to boast in my weakness and to completely trust that he can work through me, despite my shyness. There have been days that I would get completely discouraged because the conversations I had with people were a huge flop, and there have been days that completely left me speechless. I absolutely have no words to describe some of the experiences I’ve had. I’ve been tested, humbled, and pruned. I may be weak, but he is strong. I have been resting in that truth, and I’m reminded daily that none of what I’ve done here is my doing, but the Father’s. When you’re in a place that’s so uncomfortable, the only thing you can do is sit at His feet and bask in his presence. I did not have high expectations when I arrived in this beautiful chaos of a city, and God has completely blew my expectations out of the water. I have quickly fallen in love with this place, and the people in it, which blows my mind. I love being in a place where I can let my imagination run wild, where my love for photography can be celebrated, and through that I can worship my father. I hope that the photos that I’ve taken can give you a small glimpse of how beautiful this city is. _CSC0007 _DSC0009 _DSC0012 _DSC0018 _DSC0031 _DSC0043 _DSC0085 _DSC0086 _DSC0104 _DSC0110 _DSC0130 _DSC0155 _DSC0183 _DSC0229 _DSC0238 _DSC0249

Leave a Reply

